RHTY&SC M.S, holds biggest-ever Awards Ceremony

first_img… Acting President hails outstanding work of the clubTHE Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club (RHTY&SC), MS, last Sunday hosted its 27th Annual Awards Ceremony at the St Francis Community Training Centre.Described as one of the largest-ever Awards Ceremony, an audience of over 500 club members, sponsors and special invitees, including acting President Moses Nagamootoo, witnessed a three-hour programme which paid tribute to outstanding teachers, law enforcement officers, retired teachers, honouring of Berbice 18th Test cricketer Shimron Hetmyer, as well as four outstanding Berbice cricket coaches.Fifteen outstanding Guyanese received the Club’s Highest Award – The Dolphin Award of Excellence.Additionally the club donated close to $2M worth of cricket gear, wheelchairs, trophies, cricket balls, medals and finance to cricket clubs, churches, NGOs, schools, the Guyana Police Force and individuals.The Lower Corentyne Secondary School stood out as National Cricket Champions at the event, which was also attended by Minister Amna Ally, Director of Sport Christopher Jones, Ansa McAl Managing Director Troy Cadogan, Bakewell CEO Rajendra Ganga and Managing Director of Nand Persaud Co. Ltd Mohindra Persaud.Club Secretary/CEO Hilbert Foster delivered a comprehensive report of the RHTY&SC from January 2016 to April 2017.The Club in 2016, according to Foster, successfully completed 453 programmes/activities while it has completed 206 of the 500 it has set itself for 2017.The Club Secretary/CEO stated that the RHTY&SC was proud to become the first youth and sports organisation to receive a National Award – The Medal of Service.Other speakers at the gala ceremony included the Director of Sport Christopher Jones, Club president Keith Foster, Rose Hall Town Clerk Natasha Munroe, Minister Amna Ally, Regional Chairman David Armogan and Jimeel Davis of Food for the Poor (GUY).Meanwhile, Prime Minister Nagamootoo who is also performing duties as Acting President, hailed the outstanding work of the RHTY&SC, M.S and issued an appeal to others to emulate the Club across Guyana.The Acting President spoke on the importance of role models and an educated minds for youths to succeed and praised the tireless efforts of the three Foster brothers for their efforts in making a positive difference in the lives of others.The Government, the Acting Head of State noted, would continue to invest heavily in activities that would benefit youths, the elderly and less fortunate.15 cricket bats were distributed to junior cricketers of the Club while the 2016 Cricketer-of-the-Year Clinton Pestano received close to $450 000 worth of prizes.Runner-up Cricketer-of-the-Year Eon Hooper also received a large collection of prizes for his outstanding performance in the Guyana Cricket Board three-day cricket tournament.The fill list of Awardees is:Farfan and Mendes Under-15 Bowler – Tyrese SealeyFarfan and Mendes Under-15 Batsman – ChanderpaulFarfan and Mendes Under-15 Cricketer – GovindanBakewell Under-17 Batsman – Kevlon AndersonBakewell Under-17 Bowler – Junior SinclairBakewell Under-17 Cricketer-of-the-Year – Kevlon AndersonPepsi Under-19 Bowler – Sylus TyndallPepsi Under-19 Batsman – Kevin SinclairPepsi Under-19 Cricketer-of-the-Year – Kevin SinclairBakewell Second Division Bowler – Sylus TyndallBakewell Second Division Batsman – Delbert HicksBakewell Second Division Cricketer of the Year – Delbert HicksMetro Female Bowler – Erva GiddingsMetro Female Batswoman – Shemaine CampbelleMetro Female Cricketer-of-the-Year – Shemaine CampbelleGizmos and Gadgets First Division Bowler – Shawn PerreiraGizmos and Gadgets First Division Batsman – Clinton PestanoGizmos and Gadgets First Division Cricketer-of-the-Year – Clinton PestanoNational Senior Debuts – Eon Hooper, Clinton PestanoMost Disciplined Male – Joshua WilsonMost Disciplined Female – Uma MatadeenMost Promising Member – Lucas ArthurMost Improved Players – Mahendra Gopilall and Jonathan RampersaudMost Committed – M. SamarooFielder-of-the-Year – Keith SimpsonBenefit Year – Keon SinclairCooperation with Management – D. Prahalad and Sunil MadrimootooWorker-of-the-Year – Simon NaiduSpecial Awards – Angela Haniff, Anil Ramnarine, Reyad Rahaman, A. Seegobin, Justin Gobin, Mark Papannah, Brenda Millington, Elizabeth Brusch, Pamela Brusch and Lucy Pike.Runner-up Cricketer-of-the-Year – Eon HooperCricketer-of-the-Year – Clinton Pestanolast_img